Who We Are


Our community is extremely fortunate to have a wonderful team of caring, dedicated, professional staff to mentor the next generation of leaders of our community.

Program Staff
Kendra Wilson, Director of Operations – kwilson@bgcuv.org
Ryan Rathbun, Unit Director – rrathbun@bgcuv.org
Marcus Vela, Education Director – mvela@bgcuv.org
Tanya Juarez, Teen Director – tjuarez@bgcuv.org
Izzy Verduzco, Art & Special Programs Coordinator – iverduzco@bgcuv.org
Jeremiah Fallin, Director of Technology – jfallin@bgcuv.org

Jordan Steele, Athletics Director – jsteele@bgcuv.org

Administrative Staff
Summer R. Baranko, Chief Executive Officer – sbaranko@bgcuv.org
Patti LaFreniere, Development Director – plafreniere@bgcuv.org
Tricia Takahashi, Office Manager – ttakahashi@bgcuv.org
Maria Castillo, Office Assistant – contactus@bgcuv.org

Board of Directors

Board President: Stacey Crowe – FCC Commercial Furniture
Immediate Past President: Vicki Murray, Retired – Commercial Title Company
Vice President: Derek Simmons, Attorney at Law – Simmons Law PC
Treasurer: Jim Treanor-Weaver, Partner – Wicks Emmett LLP

Members at Large:

Meredith Bliss, Trainer & Management Coach
Gwen Soderberg-Chase, Executive Director – Douglas County Partners for Student Success
RenΓ©e Coen, Retired – Mercy Medical Center and Umpqua Community College
Lance Colley, Retired – City of Roseburg
Lynn Herbert, Owner – Herbert Lumber
Dori John, General Manager – Roseburg Disposal
Joshua Knox, President – Systech Consulting
Shelley Briggs Loosley – Loosley Development and Briggs Loosley Foundation
Nikki Messenger, City Manager – City of Roseburg
Robin Paterson, Retired – Roseburg Public Schools
Jon Petersen, Orthodontist/Owner – Current Orthodontics
Clayton Reinhart, Owner – Dutch Bros Coffee
Ali Spens, VP, Community Manager – Umpqua Bank
Scott Stanley OD, Optometrist/Owner – New Visions Eye Care
Michele Torvik, Chief Operations Officer – ABCT Inc.
Mike Watters, President – Watters + Fryer CPAs
Jill Weber, Principal – Roseburg High School

Emeritus Members:

Neal Brown, Executive Vice President/Retail Manager – Umpqua Bank
Ronnie Bruce, Owner – Bruce Properties
Karen Kruse Corpron, Retired – Kruse Farms Market
Gary Hunt, Retired – Aviva Health
Robin Sabala Johnson, Retired – International Paper
Lonnie Rainville, Community Development Director – City of Myrtle Creek
Ron West, Retired – IBM